Joseph Beuys Prize for Research

The Museum Schloss Moyland Foundation awards together with the Society of Friends of the Museum Schloss Moyland and the Volksbank Kleverland eG the Joseph Beuys Preis für Forschung (Joseph Beuys Prize for Research). With this new award, the Museum Schloss Moyland Foundation aims to nurture young academic talent and to intensify international research activity on Joseph Beuys.

The prize is aimed at university, college and academy graduates from all academic disciplines whose bachelor’s, master’s or graduate theses or doctoral or habilitation dissertations treat aspects of Joseph Beuys’ work and influence. Likewise, academic essays, exhibition or educational projects may be submitted.

In accordance with the universal scope of the work of Joseph Beuys, the prize is interdisciplinary. It honours outstanding achievements of young scholars in the humanities, theology, science, law and social sciences worldwide.

Award winners
2022 Dr. Marta Ryczkowska (POL) / Dr. Daniel Spaulding (USA)
2019 Prof. Dr. Matthias Weiß, Berlin 
2014 Dr. Marianne Wagner, Bern / Dr. Ulf Jensen, Berlin / Ole Valler, Kleve (Spezialpreis der Jury) 
2011 Dr. Barbara Gronau, Berlin

Laudation by Dr. Petra Richter (Chairwoman of the Jury), 2022 [PDF]


Oliver Kretschmann 
Assistant to the Artistic Direction 
Phone +49 2824 9510-10